Category Archives: Startups

Facebook finally gets serious about events.

Facebook finally gets serious about events

One of the consistently repeated startup “attempts” is the so-called “Things to Do” app. “Hey, what can I do this weekend?”. My company goby was one of the earlier attempts. After a pretty good run we failed to get enough traction to get to critical mass, and sold the company to Telenav.

I’ve kept a “graveyard” list of companies who’ve tried (drop me a note if you want a copy). It’s over 150 companies. Seriously. If you’re thinking about trying to create this company….don’t. Just don’t. I’ve written about why elsewhere, but in a nutshell: it’s a feature, not a product. It’s too hard to build a brand and a company around a use case that only happens every month or so.

Now, a big brand can do it. Say, Facebook. Whose events product has sucked for years, even as they amassed the single largest repository of events anywhere. It looks like, finally, they are starting to get serious about it, with a major update to their IOS app that lets you browse for events by category, just like a big kid. And with their database of your interests, expect pretty good personalization on top of that, sooner or later.

(BTW. Looking for something to do this weekend? Try reading a great book via The Hawaii Project)!

How Twitter could monetize the entire Internet in one click.

twitter

So, Twitter’s in a hole. User growth stagnant, stock price plummeting, laying people off, swirling questions around how/whether Jack Dorsey can fix things.

Herein, we offer a proposal for how Twitter, with a very modest effort, could monetize (almost) the entire Internet, gain enormous goodwill, juice their earnings, help save journalism, and help motivate new usage of Twitter. Get the Street Off Their Back while they fix other stuff.

If you ask the average person what annoys them about the internet, you’ll mostly get the same answer: ads. But ads are the way internet content businesses get paid. The “subscription” model for content hasn’t caught on, because the cost barrier is too high. Most people don’t want to commit to $10/month for access to a website, with so much “free” content out there. Twitter has the opportunity to become the defacto Content Subscription service. 

Here’s how:

Look at virtually any webpage these days and you’ll see a Tweet button. This button is powered by Twitter. Developed by Twitter, owned by Twitter, embedded via some javascript, which Twitter can easily change. If there’s one thing Twitter has, it’s this ubiquitous distribution via the tweet button.

Suppose when you Tweet an article you like, Twitter offers you a choice. Just tweet your link as usual. Or, make a small payment ($0.50?), tweet the link, and in return your browsing on the source site is ad free for the next month. Tweet out that Esquire link about how make a Martini, pay your $0.50 and your Esquire viewing is ad-free for the next month. Twitter keeps $0.25, gives $0.25 to the source site, and the source honors the “ad free” pledge for a month, via a cookie or something. Twitter could even distinguish between a “like” (a free tweet) and “love” (an article/tweet I liked so much I was willing to pay for it). And as more people learn they can do this, they’ll tweet more, generating distribution and viewers for the Publisher’s content.

This is the “tip” model of content monetization. Or “micro-Freemium”. Call it the Twitter TwipJar. It’s a win-win-win. Twitter gets $0.25 and enormous goodwill, the publisher gets $0.25 (vs about $0.0015 for an average monthly visitor, per below), and the consumer gets a wonderful ad-free viewing experience.NoiseTrade is doing interesting business this way in music and books, for artists, as an example proof-of-concept.

Now imagine the Twitter ad campaign: “An ad-free internet, brought to you by Twitter”. Twitter would be hailed as a conquering hero. Or — “Help the brands you love stay alive with the Twitter TwipJar”. Twitter wins.


People tweet about stuff. TV shows, events, sports, news articles…. content. 95% (99%?) of people only consume content, they don’t produce it. What’s the single most irritating thing about content? Ads. Ever try to read that stupid BuzzFeed article with a dozen ad flashbombs going off like an old Myspace page? Of course you have. And god help you if you’re trying to do that on your mobile phone on the train.

Why are all these web pages so loaded with ads? All those mid- and low-tier content sites are trying to stay alive in a world of “free”. But it’s hard to generate enough revenue by ads to survive, unless you grow to enormous scale.

The single most common irritant people express about the web is ads.

And it’s not that great for businesses either — here’s why:

  • CPMs are Terrible
  • The UX Impact is Terrible
  • The Impact on the nature of content itself is Terrible

CPMs are Terrible

Your average mid-tier website is lucky to get a $1 CPM on run-of-site ads. (CPM = Cost Per Mille, or the revenue per 1000 views of an ad). If you’re ESPN or Huffington Post, you can charge a higher CPM. Everybody else, not so much.

Let’s do the math on ARPU (Average Revenue Per User), to see the challenge. Let’s say your average visitor views 1.5 pages per month (most web traffic is “fly through” — read a page then leave). Then ((1 user x 1.5 pages) / 1000) * $1 CPM = $0.0015. That’s right. A visitor generates a tenth of a penny in revenue. 100 visitors yields $0.15. Not sustainable for long. That’s why most mid-tier websites eventually disappear, unless they grow fast or find another revenue source.

UX Impact is Terrible

Mid-tier publisher sites are usually buried in ads. To the point that the content itself is often near invisible, or inaccessible. (and on mobile devices, even slower!). Exhibit A, below: it’s pretty hard to find the “actual” content (vs. the ads) and the UX controls in this page:

Content Impact

The insatiable drive for pageviews has given rise to it’s own language describing bad content. Clickbait. Listicles. Trolling.

And in fact, in the page below, it’s arguable whether the “content” is even any better than the ads.

But you knew that. Ads suck. They create perverse incentives (who’s the customer? The reader, or the advertiser?). (That’s why, at The Hawaii Project, a personalized book discovery engine, we show no ads and are pursuing a “freemium” business model. The reader is the customer.)

If you want to get rid of ads, you have a limited set of choices. Pretty much the only one is to charge for your service — either with a paywall (as newspapers have experimented with in various forms), or via “Freemium”, having a free product plus charging some users a fee for access to advanced features.

But many sites, especially content-rich sites that are basically blogs in some form, don’t have an easy way to create premium features. And they don’t have a lot of developer resources hanging around.

What do they have? They have a “Tweet” button on most every page on the internet. The Twitter TwipJar gives them an easy way to monetize more effectively and provide a better user experience, and Twitter does the work!

More broadly, ad-driven Journalism is a race to the bottom. Lower cost content spun to generate more outrage, more titillation, more holier-than-thou, more page views — rather than content that is of sufficient quality people want to share it, and pay for it directly. A Twitter TwipJar might be the way to fund high quality content via frictionless micropayments. ($0.50 might be great for Bleacher Report but not enough for the New York Times, so Twitter might implement variable tipping, to allow big brands to define the tip size required to trigger the ad-free.)

This is an “everybody wins” scenario:

  • Consumer gets: An entirely optional ad free experience and the happiness of supporting a brand they love, while enhancing their own personal brand by tweeting interesting stuff and doing what they’re already doing.
  • Publishers get: Extra Revenue, User Happiness, Content distribution via Twitter. And with a small effort (just need to allow for an ad-free experience — cookies plus some modest site changes)
  • Twitter gets — extra revenue, enormous goodwill as the company that saved Publishing and Killed Bad Advertising, and more users (as people learn they can use twitter to get rid of ads). They could even hand out “badges”, similar to Facebook “likes”, for brands the consumer supports.

Twitter already has access to an enormous slice of the internet via the Tweet button. They wouldn’t have to field a giant sales force to distribute this, just work with what they have already done .To implement this, Twitter would need some kind of near frictionless micro-payments. But seems like Square (Jack Dorsey’s other company) knows something about payments and credit card processing.

And, in the same way that Facebook became the de facto authentication system of the web via Facebook Login, Twitter could become the de facto Content Subscription service via the Tweet button.

(this article was originally published on LinkedIn — thanks to John C Abell for reviewing a draft and providing great feedback, but his endorsement of this post’s content not implied).

William Gibson, Startups and Verbs

So, I’m reading Distrust That Particular Flavor by William Gibson. In case you’ve been hiding under a rock for the last 20 years, Gibson is novelist who famously spawned the Cyberpunk movement and coined the term “cyberspace” in Neuromancer, 30 years ago. And gone on to write many thoughtful, wonderful books. While he’s inspired a generation of technologists, he doesn’t focus on startups. But Distrust That Particular Flavor (his only non-fiction book) has some interesting insights on the startup process (it’s packed with non-startupy insights as well!).

Why do serial entrepreneurs do it? Who puts themself through all that pain by choice, knowing the odds are they’ll fail? Gibson, although he’s writing about writing for a living, has the answer, which utterly captures the joy of a piece of working code or a business that’s starting to work:

The distinction I was making wasn’t between paid versus unpaid, exactly. It wasn’t about whatever sum might be involved. It was about a certain demonstration of agency. ….. Either someone whose rent was paid by their job of selecting stories, someone for whom it actually mattered, could be induced by my words on a page to buy my story, or they couldn’t. This seemed like magic to me, and still does. As if the right runes, scratched in the dirt, could produce a bag of groceries. Once you’ve managed to do this successfully, doing it again isn’t quite so much about the groceries as about the peculiar wonder of it.

So if we want to produce that wonder, we need a startup that resonates with people. That they readily associate with your service. I once advised a fellow entrepreneur that he needed to remove all the actions from his startup, except for one button. One key action. The ultimate in clarity for the user. That is what this thing does. Hard to achieve, but the right goal. Gibson has a take on that (this is in 1989, mind you).

A BBC executive working on another vision of interactive television offered me a tour of a small research facility in San Francisco. He was interested in having me ”do” something with this new technology. The lab we visited was devoted to… well, there weren’t verbs. I looked at things, watched consoles as they were poked and prodded, and nobody there, it seemed, could even begin to explain what it was I might be doing if I were to, uh, do, one of these projects, whatever it was. It wasn’t writing, and it wasn’t directing. It was definitely something, though, and they were certainly keen to do it, but they needed those verbs.

You’ve heard it said that startups are a search for a business model. And that’s not a bad way to look at it. But for a consumer startup, ubiquity is all. To become ubiquitous, people need a “verb” for you. Or at least a one word mental construct they associate with you, even if they don’t say it out loud. Google is famously a verb now. Foursquare is “check in”. Pinterest “Pins” things.

What’s your verb?

(btw: The Hawaii Project is demoing at Mass Innovation Nights. If you like what we’re up to, we can use your vote, here: http://buff.ly/1hWR6Ay).

Being in the Water

I remember many years ago learning to surf in Hawaii with my daughter. (Well, she learned; me, not so much). We got some instructions on the beach, then, into the water we go. Our instructor pushed us into the waves, and my daughter, a gymnast, popped right up onto the board and was surfing the first time.

I just couldn’t get it. Kept missing the wave, or losing my footing. And getting more and more frustrated and unhappy with each attempt.

At some point, I had the thought: why are you so unhappy? You’re in the water in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the sun is shining and you’re having fun with your kids.

Sometimes, you just have to enjoy “being in the water”, and let go of the immediate need for success. Trust the process.

Going through a bit of that with The Hawaii Project now. The first rush of the launch is off, and while things are going ok, customer acquisition is not going the way I want it to, and attempts to generate press aren’t hitting yet.

Sometimes, you just have to enjoy being in the water. I’m working my dream project, I have the freedom to chase it on my own terms.

Enjoy being in the water. Keep pushing, don’t be satisfied, but enjoy being in the water.

(The Hawaii Project finds great books you’d never find on your own. Check us out: http://www.thehawaiiproject.com)

Introducing What Should I Read Next

So, I’m currently reading The Water Knife, an extremely interesting near-future take on the water problems faced by the American Southwest. (The ancient Anasazi has the same problems but that’s a different blog post). Post-apocalyptic climate change fiction with a healthy dose of William Gibson-esque cyberpunk. Great read, no matter your point of view about climate change. Shortly I’ll be done with it, and facing the inevitable “what should I read next” question.

Well here at The Hawaii Project you know we’re all about great book recommendations, finding great books you’d never find on your own. We’re excited today to introduce a new feature, “What Should I Read Next”. Now, to be honest, this has been done before. But not well. Let’s show you in action how different and better our results are.

The most well known approach is Amazon’s “Customers who bought this also bought that”. For the Water Knife, Amazon tells me

  • buy other books by the same author (BORING! + I’ve already read his earlier books!), or
  • get Seveneves by Neal Stephenson (a space disaster movie, nothing to do with climate change, and so well-promoted, if you read Science Fiction you’ve heard about this book already).

Goodreads at least doesn’t show me books by the same author, but does show me 4 or 5 space operas with nothing in common with The Water Knife. None of these recommendations is really very interesting or relevant.

Let’s check out The Hawaii Project. If you want to know what to read after The Water Knife, we’ve got you covered.

We’re recommending Rivers, by Michael Farris Smith. (“In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy, Larry Brown, and James Lee Burke, Rivers is an enthralling, darkly beautiful novel set in Mississippi against the backdrop of a series of devastating storms that pummeled the American South in the years since Hurricane Katrina. In the near future, a climate shift has caused massive damage to the Southeastern United States…”).

Now we’re talking. A near future climate change adventure story. Spot on. And totally generated by the system, so this same quality of recommendation is available for any book, without human intervention.

And we’re recommending Tomorrow and Tomorrow by Thomas Sweterlitsch, a near future cyperpunk post-apocalyptic novel you probably haven’t heard of, but which is getting nominated for awards and getting rave reviews from other authors. And we’re recommending Jonathan Lethem’s near-future classic, Gun, With Occasional Music — it’s not just new books, or books we want to sell you, it’s the right books.

So much more interesting and valuable.

What makes our approach different? The Hawaii Project is unique in that it identifies what books the influencers and tastemakers are writing about, and so we can identify when two books are written about together — a very strong signal that the two books are related to each other. We also take into account what the book is about, rather than simply whether people who bought this also bought that — a very weak signal that the books are related.

Give it a whirl with your favorite book. What Should I Read Next?